Woodrow Wilson's Fourteen Points

Woodrow Wilson's Fourteen Points

Woodrow Wilson’s Fourteen Points were at the heart of a peace programme aimed at preventing any future European wars. President Wilson first outlined his Fourteen Points in a speech to the American Congress in January 1918.

The Fourteen Points were as Follows

  1. No more secret agreements ("Open covenants openly arrived at").
  2. Free navigation of all seas.
  3. An end to all economic barriers between countries.
  4. Countries to reduce weapon numbers.
  5. All decisions regarding the colonies should be impartial.
  6. The German Army is to be removed from Russia. Russia should be left to develop her own political set-up.
  7. Belgium should be independent like before the war.
  8. France should be fully liberated and allowed to recover Alsace-Lorraine.
  9. All Italians are to be allowed to live in Italy. Italy's borders are to be "along clearly recognisable lines of nationality."
  10. Self-determination should be allowed for all those living in Austria-Hungary.
  11. Self-determination and guarantees of independence should be allowed for the Balkan states.
  12. The Turkish people should be governed by the Turkish government. Non-Turks in the old Turkish Empire should govern themselves.
  13. An independent Poland should be created which should have access to the sea.
  14. A League of Nations should be set up to guarantee the political and territorial independence of all states.

See also: The Treaty of Versailles

MLA Citation/Reference

"Woodrow Wilson's Fourteen Points". HistoryLearning.com. 2024. Web.