Medieval Monarchies

Medieval Monarchies

During the period of Medieval England, the country was run by a total of eight kings and one queen.

The start of Medieval England is marked by the arrival of William the Conqueror, who claimed England’s throne at the Battle of Hastings in 1066. This era is almost universally thought to have ended in 1377, when Richard II of Bordeaux took the throne.

Below is a list of the kings and queens who ruled during the medieval period, including the years in which they ruled:

King / Queen Years on throne
Edward the Confessor 1042 to 1066
Harold of Wessex 1066
William I 1066 to 1087
William Rufus 1087 to 1100
Henry I 1100 to 1135
Stephen 1135 to 1154
Henry II 1154 to 1189
Richard I (Richard the Lionheart) 1189 to 1199
John 1199 to 1216
Henry III 1216 to 1272
Edward I 1272 to 1307
Edward II 1307 to 1327
Edward III 1327 to 1377

MLA Citation/Reference

"Medieval Monarchies". 2024. Web.